clean eating, nutrition, Uncategorized

What’s in my blender?

What is in my blender today?  Well, my blender has evolved into this wonderful green drink.

I have always added green powder to my smoothies or green drinks for a boost of nutrition. I recently learned that the green grasses in most powders can cause people sensitive to gluten to react to them. So, I switched to Metagenics Phytoganix which has NO GREEN GRASSES. I feel a world of difference! I love it! I also like it because I don’t use a lot of fruit due to my insulin resistance. The Phytoganix allows me to get the benefit of fruit without the sugar.

So, to make my green drink that I have every morning (and sometimes at night too):

1 cup water (more or less depending on how you like it. I like it thin like juice)
splash of lemon juice (I use the organic lemon juice from Costco)
knob of ginger (peeled but if it is organic, you really don’t have to peel)
1 celery stalk (organic)
1 spear pineapple (Sam’s has non-organic fresh pineapple but pineapple is usually on the clean list so I’m ok with this)
very large handful of power greens (I like this organic one)
tsp Metagenics Phytoganix
Metagenics Ultra flora synergy probiotic powder
few cubes of ice
sometimes I thrown in parsley or cilantro if I have it
you can add a couple drops of liquid organic stevia to make it sweeter. This will enhance the flavor of the Phytoganix and make it delish! It will bring out the fruit flavor without making it full of sugar.

all ingredients organic (except pineapple, it is usually on clean list)
The key is to add enough water to make it thin like juice
and not too much ice or you get a smoothie

Here is more info on Metagenics Phytoganix:
Phytoganix is a convenient, delicious way to get a diverse daily supply of phytonutrients from certified organic sources.

Benefits:
This highly nutritious, berry red† formula features:
◦ Fruits such as raspberries, blueberries, and cranberries
◦ Herbs including green tea extract and ginger
◦ Vitamin C-rich acerola extract
◦ Vegetables such as beets, carrots, and spinach
◦ Flaxseed powder, inulin, and spirulina

Phytoganix is USDA organic, assuring it is produced, processed, and certified to be consistent with national organic standards
All plant ingredients in Phytoganix are from certified organic farming systems that exclude synthetic chemicals in crop production

†Color variation could occur due to the natural aspect of the ingredients.
This product is non-GMO, gluten free and vegetarian.

14690846_958106107626826_7300263262338613368_n

7 thoughts on “What’s in my blender?”

Leave a Reply

